|Photograph by Richard Croft, source|
Several treasures from the past were revealed when a safe door swung open that had not been accessed since the 1980s, due to the key being lost.
These include letters from the Cathedral dated 1950, giving a fascinating insight into repair work.
The letters detail that the Sundial (outside near the door) was repaired for the sum of ten shillings using scrap stones from the Clerestory of the Angel Choir of 1280!
There's also information on the font, which is described in the St Thomas's Listed Building with these words: "The tub font is early C12 with two orders of cable moulding around the top." The current church custodians believe the font was found in a field in two pieces and was repaired and returned to the church.
Both letters can now be seen framed in the church for festival visitors.